Safeguarding & Promoting the Welfare of Children

The Castle Rock School adopts a child centred and co-ordinated approach to safeguarding.

Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is everyone’s responsibility. Everyone who comes into contact with children and their families and carers has a role to play in safeguarding children. At The Castle Rock School all adults make sure their approach is child-centred. This means that they should consider, at all times, what is in the best interests of the child.

Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is defined as:

  • Protecting children from maltreatment
  • Preventing impairment of children’s health or development
  • Ensuring that children grow up in circumstances consistent with the provision of safe and effective care
  • Taking action to enable all children to have the best outcomes.

All of the staff at The Castle Rock School have a role to play in safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children.

Designated Safeguarding Leads (DSLs)

Mr M Rowbottom – Lead DSL
Deputy Headteacher / Care & Guidance Lead – mrowbottom@castlerocksch.uk

Miss E Booth – Deputy DSL
Deputy Headteacher – ebooth@castlerocksch.uk

Miss A Kinder – Deputy DSL
Assistant Headteacher / Care & Guidance – akinder@castlerocksch.uk

Mr A Thompson – Deputy DSL
Senior Leadership Team – athompson@castlerocksch.uk

Mrs D Aylmer – Deputy DSL
Year 7 Student Manager – daylmer@castlerocksch.uk

Mrs C Smith – Deputy DSL
Year 7 Student Manager – csmith@castlerocksch.uk

Mrs C Parker – Deputy DSL
Year 8 Student Manager – cparker@castlerocksch.uk

Mr W Beech – Deputy DSL
Year 9 Student Manager – wbeech@castlerocksch.uk

Mr R Elderton – Deputy DSL
Year 10 Student Manager – relderton@castlerocksch.uk

Mrs J Pallett – Deputy DSL
Year 11 Student Manager – jpallett@castlerocksch.uk

Mr M Frost – Deputy DSL
Post 16 Student Manager – mfrost@castlerocksch.uk

Mrs M Lofthouse – Deputy DSL
Post 16 Student Manager – mlofthouse@castlerocksch.uk

Miss A Bowles – Deputy DSL
SENDco / SEND Co-ordinator – abowles@castlerocksch.uk

Ms K Hawker – Deputy DSL
SENDco – khawker@castlerocksch.uk

All of our staff undertake safe guarding training facilitated by our lead DSL (refreshed every year) and regular updates as required. Annual training is carried out during staff training days, most recently on Wednesday 27th August. Every new member of staff undertakes safeguarding training as part of their induction programme.

All of our staff are given, and have read ‘Keeping Children Safe in Education – Part 1 – September 2019’ (attached at the bottom of this page).

The Governing Body of The Castle Rock School ensure that we comply with our duties and that the policies, procedures and training are effective and comply with the Law.

The Governor with responsibility for Safeguarding is:

  • Mr Andrew Presland
    Tel : 01530 834368
    Email : office@castlerock.sch.uk
 

Safeguarding Documents